Make every vote for president matter.

We are a grassroots group calling for the Connecticut General Assembly to adopt the National Popular Vote Interstate Compact in its 2017 legislative session.

The Compact is an agreement among states to award their electoral college votes to the winner of the national popular vote. When states holding a majority of electoral college votes sign onto the Compact, it will go into effect, making the national popular vote winner the president.

This Week’s Action: 

contact these legislators and the speaker

These Democratic legislators have NOT announced support for the National Popular Vote bill, HB 5434. Despite having the support of the Governor, Lt. Governor, 60 co-sponsors, and Senate and House leadership, the Speaker has not said he’ll bring the bill to the floor for a vote!

Please start by emailing the Speaker of the House, Rep. Joe Aresimowicz: Joe.Aresimowicz@cga.ct.gov or calling him at 860-240-8535.

Title Name District Towns Email Phone LOB Room
Rep. Fox, Dan Stamford Dan.Fox@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Currey, Jeff 11 East Hartford, Manchester, South Windsor Jeff.Currey@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1378 4010
 Rep. Boyd, Pat Brooklyn, Eastford, Pomfret, Union, Woodstock Pat.Boyd@cga.ct.gov
Rep. Guerrera, Antonio 29 Newington, Rocky Hill, Wethersfield Tony.Guerrera@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1377 2301
Rep. Morris, Bruce Norwalk
Rep. Rosario, Christopher 128 Bridgeport Christopher.Rosario@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1375 4115
Rep. Rovero, Danny 51 Killingly, Putnam, Thompson Danny.Rovero@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1371 4004
Rep. Serra, Joseph 33 Middletown Joseph.Serra@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1378 4021
Rep. Tong, William 147 Stamford, Darien William.Tong@cga.ct.gov 860-240-0532 2502
Rep. Ziogas, Christopher 79 Bristol Chris.Ziogas@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1378 4016
Senator Doyle, Paul 9 Cromwell, Middletown, Newington, Rocky Hill & Wethersfield paul.doyle@cga.ct.gov 860-240-0475
Senator Hartley, Joan 15 Waterbury, Middlebury & Naugatuck joan.hartley@cga.ct.gov 860-240-0006
Senator Kennedy, Ted 12 Branford, Durham, Guilford, Killingworth, Madison & North Branford ted.kennedy@cga.ct.gov 860-240-0455
Senator Larson, Timothy 3 East Hartford, East Windsor, Ellington & South Windsor timothy.larson@cga.ct.gov 860-240-0511
Senator Leone, Carlo 27 Stamford & Darien carlo.leone@cga.ct.gov 860-240-0589
Senator Slossberg, Gayle 14 Milford, Orange, West Haven & Woodbridge gayle.slossberg@cga.ct.gov 860-240-0482

Democrat or Republican, we need you to contact your state representative and state legislator and let them know – even if it’s for the umpteenth time – that you want them to support the National Popular Vote bill, HB 5434.

For talking points / more details, please see our action page.

If you haven’t filled out our volunteer survey about how you’d like to be involved, please take a minute and do so – this bill won’t pass without your help!

As in all other elections, the candidate with the most votes should win.

Despite winning the popular vote by 2.9 million votes (2.1%), Hillary Clinton lost the Electoral College in 2016. Similarly, in 2004, had 60,000 Ohio voters switched from George Bush to John Kerry, Bush would have won the popular vote by a similar margin but lost the presidency.

Make every vote matter.

The winner-take-all Electoral College effectively disenfranchises millions of Americans in red and blue states. Connecticut Republicans votes for president haven’t mattered since 1988, when George H.W. Bush won the state.

Put Connecticut back on the electoral map. 

Connecticut’s voters – and their interests – are taken for granted election after election while swing states receive all the attention. This inequality isn’t limited to elections. Swing states also receive significantly more federal grant funding due to their electoral clout.

Join us!

Find your legislators  and give them a call. Ask them to support House Bill 5434, legislation for Connecticut to join the Compact. See if your legislator is among those legislators who have NOT yet co-sponsored the bill!

Fill out our survey about how to get involved! Sign up below to receive email updates!