We need your help or the bill will die!

WE NEED YOU OR THIS BILL WILL DIE!

These Democratic legislators have NOT announced support for the National Popular Vote bill, HB 5434. Ahead of our Wednesday, April 26th Lobby Day, please call and email them! Despite having 57 co-sponsors, without their support, this bill WILL die!

Please start by emailing the Speaker of the House, Rep. Joe Aresimowicz: Joe.Aresimowicz@cga.ct.gov or calling him at 860-240-8535.

Then move on to your representative and senator if they’re on the list. If you’re up for it, you can then reach out to legislators near you!

Title Name District Towns Email Phone LOB Room
Rep. Abercrombie, Catherine 83 Meriden, Berlin Catherine.Abercrombie@cga.ct.gov 860-240-0492 2002
Rep. Adams, Terry 146 Stamford Terry.B.Adams@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1377 4020
Rep. Arconti, David 109 Danbury David.Arconti@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1376 4034
Rep. Aresimowicz, Joe 30 Berlin, Southington Joe.Aresimowicz@cga.ct.gov 860-240-8535 4105
Rep. Baker, Andre 124 Bridgeport Andre.Baker@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1371 4037
Rep. Boyd, Patrick 50 Brooklyn, Eastford, Pomfret, Union, Woodstock Pat.Boyd@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1372 4005
Rep. Currey, Jeff 11 East Hartford, Manchester, South Windsor Jeff.Currey@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1378 4010
Rep. Dillon, Patricia 92 New Haven Patricia.Dillon@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1377 4019
Rep. Fox, Daniel 148 Stamford Dan.Fox@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1372 2202
Rep. Gentile, Linda 104 Ansonia, Derby Linda.Gentile@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1372 4109
Rep. Guerrera, Antonio 29 Newington, Rocky Hill, Wethersfield Tony.Guerrera@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1377 2301
Rep. Miller, Patricia Billie 145 Stamford Patricia.Miller@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1375 4033
Rep. Paolillo, Alphonse 97 New Haven Alphonse.Paolillo@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1371 5008
Rep. Reed, Lonnie 102 Branford Lonnie.Reed@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1378 3902
Rep. Reyes, Geraldo 75 Waterbury Geraldo.Reyes@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1377 4024
Rep. Ritter, Matthew 1 Hartford Matthew.Ritter@cga.ct.gov 860-240-8489 4106
Rep. Rosario, Christopher 128 Bridgeport Christopher.Rosario@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1375 4115
Rep. Rovero, Daniel 51 Killingly, Putnam, Thompson Danny.Rovero@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1371 4004
Rep. Serra, Joseph 33 Middletown Joseph.Serra@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1378 4021
Rep. Simmons, Caroline 144 Stamford Caroline.Simmons@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1376 c110
Rep. Tong, William 147 Stamford, Darien William.Tong@cga.ct.gov 860-240-0532 2502
Rep. Ziogas, Christopher 79 Bristol Chris.Ziogas@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1378 4016
Senator Doyle, Paul 9 Cromwell, Middletown, Newington, Rocky Hill & Wethersfield paul.doyle@cga.ct.gov 860-240-0475
Senator Hartley, Joan 15 Waterbury, Middlebury & Naugatuck joan.hartley@cga.ct.gov 860-240-0006
Senator Kennedy, Ted 12 Branford, Durham, Guilford, Killingworth, Madison & North Branford ted.kennedy@cga.ct.gov 860-240-0455
Senator Larson, Timothy 3 East Hartford, East Windsor, Ellington & South Windsor timothy.larson@cga.ct.gov 860-240-0511
Senator Leone, Carlo 27 Stamford & Darien carlo.leone@cga.ct.gov 860-240-0589
Senator Slossberg, Gayle 14 Milford, Orange, West Haven & Woodbridge gayle.slossberg@cga.ct.gov 860-240-0482

Democrat or Republican, we need you to contact your state representative and state legislator before the end of the day Wednesday and let them know – even if it’s for the umpteenth time – that you want them to support the National Popular Vote bill, HB 5434.

If you haven’t filled out our volunteer survey about how you’d like to be involved, please take a minute and do so – this bill won’t pass without your help!

HOW TO EXPRESS YOUR SUPPORT FOR HB 5434

Communicating in your own words is best, but here are ways to express your support that you can use as starting points, or to copy & paste. Explain why this is important to you.

  1. Presidential candidates rarely campaign in Connecticut. With the National Popular Vote Compact, HB 5434, every vote in CT would matter and candidates would pay attention to us. Do you favor the Compact? If not, why don’t you believe that every vote should matter equally?
  2. I’m tired of hearing that battleground states are the only ones that matter in presidential elections.  What about Connecticut?  With HB 5434, the National Popular Vote Compact, our votes would matter the same as votes in OH, FL and PA. Please let me know if you support the bill, and if not, why not?
  3. I’m writing to let you know I support HB5434, the National Popular Vote Compact that awards the presidency to the candidate who receives the most votes nationwide. The Compact would make one person, one vote a reality. Are you in favor of the Compact? If not, can you explain why every vote shouldn’t count equally, no matter what state you live in?
  4. I believe in a democracy every vote should matter equally and the president should be the candidate who gets the most votes. Under the current state-by-state winner-take-all method of awarding electoral votes, it doesn’t work that way. Please support HB5434, the National Popular Vote Compact. Will you vote yes on HB5434? If no, why not?
  5. Please co-sponsor HB 5434 to elect the President by the popular vote in all 50 states. Please let me know if you support the bill, and if not, why not?
  6. Please support HB 5434 so that every vote matters equally when we elect our President. Will you vote yes?
  7. I think the candidate who gets the most votes should win. Please support HB 5434, the National Popular Vote Compact. Will you vote yes?
  8. Please co-sponsor HB5434 to help make one person, one vote a reality. Will you vote yes? If no, why not?
  9. Please co-sponsor HB5434, the NPV compact. In a democracy every vote should matter equally and the president should be the candidate who gets the most votes.
  10. I’m tired of hearing that battleground states are the only ones that matter. With HB 5434 our votes would matter the same as votes in OH, FL and PA.

Join us April 26 for Lobby Day in Hartford!

The National Popular Vote bill now has 55 co-sponsors(!) but we need to convince undecided legislators to support the bill or it will die.

Please join us and spread the word about our lobby day from 11 am to 1 pm on Wednesday, April 26th at the Legislative Office Building in Hartford.

Republicans voted party-line to oppose National Popular Vote legislation so we need as many Democrats as we can to co-sponsor. For a full list of Democratic legislators (and their contact info!) who have not announced their support for the National Popular Vote bill, HB 5434, please click here.

Contact former co-sponsors who have NOT co-sponsored HB 5434

Contact Former co-sponsors

We’ve had great success recruiting additional co-sponsors for HB 5434, the National Popular Vote bill. We started with 11 co-cosponsors – there are now 53! But there are still a handful of legislators who have supported national popular vote legislation in the past but have NOT yet co-sponsored HB 5434 this session.

Please call / email these legislators and ask them to join 53 others in co-sponsoring:

Rep. Gonzalez Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov 860-240-8514
Rep. Morin Russell.Morin@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1378
Rep. Morris Bruce.Morris@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1373
Rep. Verrengia Joe.Verrengia@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1373
Rep. Berger Jeffrey.Berger@cga.ct.gov 860-240-1372
Sen. Gomes Ed.Gomes@cga.ct.gov 860-240-0509

For talking points and writing guidelines, please scroll to the bottom of this page.

CONTACT the speaker

We also need you to call and email the Speaker of the House, Rep. Joe Aresimowicz, and urge him to bring the bill to the floor for a vote:

Rep. Aresimowicz Joe.Aresimowicz@cga.ct.gov 860-240-8535

CONTACT Other Democratic Legislators who Have not co-sponsored

We need every Democrat to back this bill to get it passed. You can find a list full list of Democrats who have NOT yet co-sponsored here if you’d like to contact them as well!

For talking points and writing guidelines, please see below.

how to express your support for hb 5434

Communicating in your own words is best, but here are ways to express your support that you can use as starting points, or to copy & paste. Explain why this is important to you.

  1. Presidential candidates rarely campaign in Connecticut. With the National Popular Vote Compact, HB 5434, every vote in CT would matter and candidates would pay attention to us. Do you favor the Compact? If not, why don’t you believe that every vote should matter equally?
  2. I’m tired of hearing that battleground states are the only ones that matter in presidential elections.  What about Connecticut?  With HB 5434, the National Popular Vote Compact, our votes would matter the same as votes in OH, FL and PA. Please let me know if you support the bill, and if not, why not?
  3. I’m writing to let you know I support HB5434, the National Popular Vote Compact that awards the presidency to the candidate who receives the most votes nationwide. The Compact would make one person, one vote a reality. Are you in favor of the Compact? If not, can you explain why every vote shouldn’t count equally, no matter what state you live in?
  4. I believe in a democracy every vote should matter equally and the president should be the candidate who gets the most votes. Under the current state-by-state winner-take-all method of awarding electoral votes, it doesn’t work that way. Please support HB5434, the National Popular Vote Compact. Will you vote yes on HB5434? If no, why not?
  5. Please co-sponsor HB 5434 to elect the President by the popular vote in all 50 states. Please let me know if you support the bill, and if not, why not?
  6. Please support HB 5434 so that every vote matters equally when we elect our President. Will you vote yes?
  7. I think the candidate who gets the most votes should win. Please support HB 5434, the National Popular Vote Compact. Will you vote yes?
  8. Please co-sponsor HB5434 to help make one person, one vote a reality. Will you vote yes? If no, why not?
  9. Please co-sponsor HB5434, the NPV compact. In a democracy every vote should matter equally and the president should be the candidate who gets the most votes.
  10. I’m tired of hearing that battleground states are the only ones that matter. With HB 5434 our votes would matter the same as votes in OH, FL and PA.